This is my first pregnancy. My doctor said, the end of July 2011 was the very initial pregnancy, because it was started on the first day of my last period. However, I still didn’t notice it, because in August, exactly it was fasting month; I did fasting for the whole month (Alhamdulillah…..), and things were fine. Then, when we celebrated Eid-ul-Fitr, I just realized that I had conceived. I did a pregnancy test at home and     it was positive. Several days later, I went to the doctor to make it sure. After the doctor’s confirmation – doing the same test again in hospital, I came to be certain, very certain. So, it means I was 1 month pregnant. We – my husband and I, were very happy. Since then, we have tried to be more careful, starting from selecting nutritious foods, what foods, things and activities to avoid during pregnancy. All relatives suggested me to not work so hard, for the sake of the baby. Even my own husband was very protective, so he promised me to help with house chores, especially doing laundry. (lovely husband…. )
Unfortunately, the first three months of my pregnancy was difficult for me. Morning sickness occurred but was not very frequent. I couldn’t stand some odors. Whenever I smelt coffee, chicken soup, any dishes with garlic ingredient, I felt nausea. I searched information in internet that it is because of the increased estrogen levels. Uncle Wikipedia said Estrogen levels may increase by up to a hundredfold during pregnancy. At the same time, I started my odd semester teaching new university students, and the classes began at 7 am in the morning. So, I had a challenge at the same. I had to wake up early, to cook breakfast for me and my husband while struggling against garlic odor or something else. Then, approximately at 10 am, I would feel very hungry, extremely hungry. But I couldn’t eat soon because        I had a class. So, I refrained from eating until 11.20 am. Whenever I got food, I devoured it greedily.  This hunger always came around once every 3 hours. That means I should prepare some food or snack. Once, I didn’t have any food stock, and I felt starving to death. I just cried. I cried at home, at night, in the morning, or while riding my motorbike. All of a sudden, I remembered my mother. The starvation made me realize the great struggle of a mother carrying a child in her womb. Then I said “sorry” for many times during my cry. Sorry mother……for being a bad daughter.

About Ruli

Just an ordinary woman, a mom with only one son, a person who always makes her life count, little headstrong, not talking too much but attempts to criticize things that go wrong,,,that's me. ^^V

2 responses »

  1. intan rawit says:

    wow, I can’t believe that you really did fasting for the whole month on your first month of pregnancy mb, u really awesome. If I were you I couldn’t stand to eat more and more and no one could stop me and overweight is the result of it, haha..promise me that you wouldnt be overweight on your pregnancy like me,
    So is it baby boy or babygirl Ms Ruli?
    congratulation for your pregnancy 🙂 cant wait to see ur son/daughter to be

    • Snowy says:

      hello intan….I didn’t know if i had been pregnant in the fasting month. so, my fasting activity run smoothly. the baby is male and he will Uways’ friend someday. 🙂

Leave a comment